Wk 4 – Art Experience – Graffiti Writing

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Graffiti writing was really fun even though I wasn’t any good at it. I bought red and blue since I like those two colors a lot since they are contrasting warm and cool colors. It was difficult for me to make bubble graffiti since I had very little drawing space since my parents wouldn’t let me paint the house and Venice beach was too far of a drive. I needed to keep the letters tight so I could fit all of them in the poster. I also didn’t think that controlling spray paint wouldn’t be that bad, but it was hard since the can would either spray too much or spray too little. I made a sketch on back of the poster board at first just to get a general idea and to get used to the whole spray painting process. I didn’t realize it until the end, but the red and blue paint with the white background makes my graffiti art look very patriotic, but I was going for more of a fire and ice motif. I guess my ideas didn’t transfer to the final product, but I think that it was a good experience for me. I have a new appreciation for graffiti artists and how they make graffiti painting look so easy, even though there’s a lot of work that needs to be put in it. They make it look so precise and cool, it makes my attempt look like crap. I feel like this assignment was really cool and it made me appreciate something I barely cared for before. By the way, getting spray paint of your fingernails and hands is not fun at all so if you can wear gloves and avoid the mess, you should.

Leave a Reply

